New Executive Committee - 2017 PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 25 August 2017 15:18

The Media Association Jamaica Limited (MAJ) is pleased to announce its elected Executive Committee as follows:-

Christopher Barnes (Chairman)-                             The Gleaner Company (Media) Limited

Steve Billings (Vice-Chairperson)-                          Suncity Radio Jamaica Limited

Claire Grant (Vice-Chairperson)-                             Television Jamaica Limited

Danville Walker-                                                             Jamaica Observer Limited

Debbian Dewar-                                                              Grove Broadcasting Company Limited

Lennie Gordon-                                                                Nationwide News Network Limited

Keith Campbell-                                                               Public Broadcasting Corporation of Jamaica (PBCJ)

D’Adra Williams-                                                            Zip 103 FM

Dennis Howard-                                                              Radio Jamaica Limited

Mrs. Andrea Messam and Mrs. Shena Stubbs-Gibson will retain their positions of Treasurer and Secretary, respectively.

Chairman Barnes declared his first charge would be to continue the work of his predecessor Newton James in seeking to expand membership of the association to give greater voice to all media stakeholders. He noted that media is today operating in a very rapidly evolving space where advances in technology as well as the dynamics in the economic, social and regulatory environments are challenging the business models of all media players.

High on the agenda for the MAJ will be the impending Digital Switchover (DSO) process which will ultimately see free to air television providers switching from analogue to digital transmission by around 2021. The wide-reaching implications, including significant capital investment, and technical considerations which impact the ability of consumers to access the digital signals from their current television sets, require significant consultation among all stakeholders. There is a National Digital Switchover Steering Committee, established in 2009, chaired by the Minister of Information and comprised of key stakeholders where developments and issues on this project are discussed.


“A strong and united voice from industry players on the important issues affecting us will go a far way to influencing outcomes of mutual benefit for all stakeholders, including the public who benefit greatly from the work of some of our media houses and journalists,” said Barnes, “We look forward to working with all stakeholders to ensure the viability of our industry while supporting the nation’s quest for economic growth.”

Home | Executive Committee | Chairman's Statement | Presentations | Press Releases & News | Events | About Us | Contact Us | Links
32 Lyndhurst Road, Kingston 5, Jamaica | Telephone: (876) 969-3546 | Fax: (876) 632-1541